Articles par PenderFund

Les Fonds Pender Maintenant Offerts Partout au Canada

Rédigé par PenderFund

Gestion de capital PenderFund ltée («Pender»), gestionnaire des fonds de placement Pender, est heureuse d’annoncer que ses Fonds sont désormais en vente partout au Canada.* Jusqu’à présent, les Fonds Pender n’étaient offerts qu’en Colombie-Britannique (province […]

juillet 12, 2017

Ratio de Sharpe

Rédigé par PenderFund

Presque tous les placements comportent un certain niveau de risque, mais ce risque contribue-t-il à votre rendement? Le ratio de Sharpe permet aux investisseurs d’évaluer les rendements ajustés en fonction du risque, que ce soit […]

octobre 4, 2016

Le Risque

Rédigé par PenderFund

Chez Pender, nous nous considérons comme les propriétaires d’une entreprise et non pas seulement de son action, ce qui signifie que, à notre avis, le risque réel en matière de placement ne se mesure pas […]

octobre 4, 2016

Bêta

Rédigé par PenderFund

Le coefficient bêta est utilisé par les investisseurs pour mesurer la mesure dans laquelle un placement risque d’être volatil. Le coefficient bêta mesure la corrélation du placement avec le marché (ou avec un indice repère) […]

octobre 4, 2016

Alpha

Rédigé par PenderFund

Le coefficient alpha mesure le rendement réel du Fonds, à savoir l’écart entre son rendement réel et le rendement prédit par son coefficient bêta. Comparez le rendement corrigé en fonction du risque du Fonds à […]

octobre 4, 2016

Exploiter l’Escompte

Rédigé par PenderFund

Le conseil classique en matière de placement est d’«acheter à bas prix, et de vendre à prix élevé». Lorsque nous investissons dans des idées où il s’agit de «raccourcir le temps nécessaire pour exploiter l’escompte», […]

juillet 30, 2015

Duration

Rédigé par PenderFund

La duration mesure la réactivité du prix d’une obligation à un changement des taux d’intérêt. Il s’agit d’un facteur clé permettant de différencier la mesure dans laquelle un fonds est positionné pour faire face au […]

mai 5, 2015

La Part Active

Rédigé par PenderFund

La «part active» est un paramètre relativement nouveau1 qui permet de mesurer la mesure dans laquelle un portefeuille suit l’évolution d’un indice, à savoir la mesure dans laquelle un portefeuille est géré de manière active. […]

février 27, 2015

Situation Spéciale

Rédigé par PenderFund

Dans le domaine de la finance, on qualifie généralement un titre de «situation spéciale» lorsqu’il traverse une période susceptible d’influer sur sa valeur comme, par exemple, une restructuration, une fusion ou une acquisition, et même […]

mars 18, 2014

Caractéristiques Prédictives

Rédigé par PenderFund

L’expression «caractéristiques prédictives» a été inventée pour décrire l’ensemble des caractéristiques dont une entreprise pourrait être dotée qui sont susceptibles de mettre les chances du côté de la surperformance. Certains attributs qui, selon nous, sont […]

mars 18, 2014

Opportunistes

Rédigé par PenderFund

Dans le domaine des finances, le fait d’être opportuniste est généralement synonyme d’une stratégie agressive dont l’objet est de faire de l’argent en tirant profit d’un titre qui est sous-évalué, vulnérable ou désavantagé. Cette stratégie […]

mars 18, 2014

M. Marché

Rédigé par PenderFund

M. Marché est le personnage d’une parabole créée par Benjamin Graham, auteur de L’Investisseur intelligent, considéré par plusieurs comme le père des placements axés sur la valeur. L’histoire de M. Marché est une allégorie des marchés boursiers. […]

mars 18, 2014

La façon dont Pender envisage le risque

Rédigé par PenderFund

« La valorisation de tout placement devrait commencer par une mesure des risques. » — Charlie Munger, vice-président – Berkshire Hathaway Notre définition du risque est vieux jeu. Nous sommes d’accord avec la définition de base du […]

novembre 8, 2013

Volatilité

Rédigé par PenderFund

Du point de vue technique, la volatilité fait référence à la différence moyenne entre le rendement attendu d’une action et son rendement réel. Les rendements réels peuvent devancer ou accuser un retard par rapport aux […]

octobre 17, 2013

Le Placement Axé sur la Valeur

Rédigé par PenderFund

Sous son expression la plus simple, le placement axé sur la valeur est une stratégie de placement selon laquelle les investisseurs achètent une action qui est, selon eux, sous-évaluée (par rapport à leur évaluation de […]

octobre 17, 2013

Marge de Sécurité

Rédigé par PenderFund

Benjamin Graham, considéré par beaucoup comme le père des placements axés sur la valeur, a écrit dans son livre L’Investisseur intelligent : «Confrontés au défi de distiller le secret d’un bon placement en trois mots, nous […]

octobre 8, 2013

Valeur Intrinsèque

Rédigé par PenderFund

La valeur intrinsèque d’une entreprise représente la valeur réelle de celle-ci par rapport à sa valeur de marché actuelle. Si un investisseur peut estimer de manière prudente une fourchette pour la valeur intrinsèque réelle d’une […]

octobre 8, 2013
  • 1
  • 2

Articles by PenderFund

Sharpe Ratio

Written by PenderFund

Almost all investments come with an element of risk but does this risk contribute to your return? Sharpe ratio is one of the calculations available to investors to assess returns on a risk-adjusted basis – […]

October 4, 2016

Beta

Written by PenderFund

Beta is a measure that investors can use when assessing a potential investment for volatility. Beta measures correlation to the market (or a benchmark) and how susceptible a stock or fund is to the fluctuations […]

October 4, 2016

Alpha

Written by PenderFund

Alpha is the measure of a fund’s actual performance above its anticipated performance, as predicted by beta. Take the fund’s performance against its benchmark on a risk-adjusted basis to ascertain the excess. This relative outperformance […]

October 4, 2016

Risk

Written by PenderFund

At Pender, we consider ourselves owners of a business, not just its stock, which means that when we think about risk we believe that real investment risk is not measured by fluctuations in a stock’s […]

October 4, 2016

Close the Discount

Written by PenderFund

The classic investing advice is to “buy low and sell high”. The objective of investing in “Close the Discount” ideas is to buy a stock when it is trading at a substantial discount to a […]

July 30, 2015

Compounders

Written by PenderFund

Compounding is one of the bedrock concepts of investing – “the ability to generate earnings from previous earnings”1. For us, “Compounders” are those companies that can internally compound their intrinsic value at a mid-teens annualized […]

July 30, 2015

“Always be open to good accidents”

Written by PenderFund

Berkshire Hathaway AGM 2015 – Pender’s Key Take Away Thoughts (Part 1) We attended the Berkshire Hathaway 2015 Annual Meeting in Omaha. We like to hear first hand from two of our value investing icons. […]

May 7, 2015

Duration

Written by PenderFund

Duration is a measure of a bond’s price sensitivity to a change in interest rates. It is a key factor in differentiating how funds are positioned for interest rate risk. The longer the duration (the […]

May 5, 2015

Active Share

Written by PenderFund

Active share is a relatively new calculation1 and provides a measurement of whether or not a portfolio “hugs” an index or not, which is an indication of how actively a portfolio is being managed. An […]

February 27, 2015

Best Ideas

Written by PenderFund

We often call the holdings in our funds our “best ideas”. This may seem obvious – why invest in anything else? The distinction is this. While we have lots of potential investment ideas, Pender manages […]

February 20, 2015

Too Hard Pile

Written by PenderFund

The “too hard pile” is a phrase we first heard coined by Charlie Munger, Berkshire Hathaway, “At Berkshire we have three buckets: yes, no and too hard.” In order to find potential investments for our […]

February 20, 2015

Pender Investment Ideas Lunch 2014 – Notes

Written by PenderFund

Download PDF Pender has just held its annual Investment Ideas Lunch. We invited three of the companies held in our funds to present to an audience of advisors and investment professionals. The companies represented a […]

June 17, 2014

Opportunistic

Written by PenderFund

Being opportunistic in the world of finance is generally associated with an aggressive strategy to make money by taking advantage of something that is undervalued, vulnerable or depressed. Property, securities or companies are targeted, bought, […]

March 18, 2014

Special Situation

Written by PenderFund

In finance a security that is labelled a “special situation” is generally undergoing a perceived value changing event such as a restructuring, merger or acquisition and even bankruptcy proceedings. The situation could have positive or […]

March 18, 2014

Circle of Competence

Written by PenderFund

Warren Buffett and Charlie Munger said it best when they recommended that investors stay within their “Circle of Competence”. Your circle of competence is the knowledge base you have developed, over and above the average […]

March 18, 2014

Predictive Attributes

Written by PenderFund

The phrase “predictive attributes” has been coined to describe a set of characteristics that a company may have that tip the odds in favour of potential outperformance. Some attributes that we believe are potentially predictive […]

March 18, 2014

Mr. Market

Written by PenderFund

Mr. Market is the subject of a parable, created by Benjamin Graham, author of The Intelligent Investor and held by many as the father of value investing. Mr. Market is an allegory for the stock […]

March 18, 2014

Volatility

Written by PenderFund

Technically, volatility refers to the average difference between a stock’s expected and actual returns. The actual returns may be above or below what is expected or benchmarked, and diversifying a portfolio will smooth the overall […]

October 17, 2013

Value Investing

Written by PenderFund

At its most simple, value investing is an investing strategy whereby investors buy a stock they believe to be undervalued (compared to an estimate of the company’s intrinsic value), with a view to profiting when […]

October 17, 2013

Bond Yields

Written by PenderFund

Yield measures a bond’s rate of return. It is calculated differently than a regular stock return because it takes into account the interest and coupon rates, as well as the time to maturity. Related Content:[catlist […]

October 8, 2013

Margin of Safety

Written by PenderFund

Benjamin Graham, believed by many to be the father of value investing, wrote in his book The Intelligent Investor, “Confronted with [the] challenge to distill the secret of sound investment into three words, we venture […]

October 8, 2013

Intrinsic Value

Written by PenderFund

Intrinsic value is the actual value of a company as opposed to its current market price. If an investor can conservatively estimate an actual intrinsic value range for a company, then he or she can […]

October 8, 2013